PySpeckle authentication

I would say that I second this request… but it was actually me that asked David… :grin:

Would a quick fix be possible? For example, that there would be an option to feed an API token to client.login instead of a username and password?

Or some other way? David identified that SpeckleBlender updates the https headers to add the token as the Authorization header. Is there a way that I could use this technique (i.e. could someone help me work out how to do this in the short term)?

1 Like

We have some analysis models that are defined in text files, and I was wondering if I could use Python to parse them and then send Speckle formatted information up to the server (I already have some parsers for reading the files). I am a complete newbie and am trying to get a handle on what would be involved. Anything that could help me (and other newbies) with that would be appreciated.

As per the posting below by David, having easy access to authentication flows would certainly be helpful.

To answer the 1.0 question, there isn’t a way to use client.login directly with the token as the /login route requires the user’s email and password.

However, I can give a cheeky suggestion! The pyspeckle client stores the response of the login request in client.me. You could chuck the token in there directly and use the client that way. I haven’t looked into this very hard so I’m not immediately sure if this will break anything - tread carefully!

client = SpeckleApiClient("hestia.speckle.works")
client.me = {
        "token": "JWT your token here"
        }
2 Likes

for reference, here are the contents of client.me when logged in properly:

contents of

you could add some of these fields to the dict along with the token if they are required somewhere else in your code

1 Like

Thanks for this. In fact, I think I tried this - I extended the SpeckleApiClient to allow me to insert my api token:

class SpeckleApiTokenClient(SpeckleApiClient):